SONNET: A CAPTURED DREAM

I have tried my hand at writing a Sonnet.  It is in Shakespearean format – 14 lines of iambic pentameter, made up of 3 quatrains, rhyming abab-cdcd-efef, followed by a couplet, rhyming  gg .

sidmouthe

A CAPTURED DREAM

 

To seal my dream I wrote it in a book;

I wrote it as a verse in sonnet form.

Made sure I could retrieve your face, your look,

To hold it so it could my life transform.

 

I wandered far along a moonlit beach, 

Searching for a clue, I knew not what.

You were so far away and out of reach; 

A creature my dull mind almost forgot.

 

But then I saw some footprints in the sand;

I knew that I had seen those prints before.

Your bright red nails showed as my vision panned, 

And you were there upon that foreign shore. 

 

What bliss it was to capture in a dream

That glimpse as lucent as a moonlight beam.

 

redtoenails

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

6 thoughts on “SONNET: A CAPTURED DREAM

Leave a Reply

