LOVE’S ANGUISH

pixabay-loversanguish

How can you love me
When you do not know me?
But could you ever know me?
Could anyone ever truly know another ?
For what is love?
And what is knowing?

I love it that we share our minds
I love it that you care
life is not simple
nor is it kind
I cannot tell
I will not tell
what license I will find
when I am free
to give and take
to open my closed door
I hate it that I cannot share
my honest thought with you

You cannot love me
When you do not know me
How can that be?
Love incites jealousy
Demands a tunnel vision
How can you love me
When you do not know me?

How is it that you care?
why do you say
I am your hope
your strength and future
when we have hardly ever met
and how do I respond
to what your heart holds dear
when I am filled with dread
that what you see in me is
no more than a wish
a thread of passion
based on hope
on a need unspoken
and unknown

But can you love me
when you do not know me?

Why fantasise
why  build daydreams
on that insubstantial
illusory quicksand
of hope
when caution’s imperative
holds good
perhaps for ever

Please do not love me
Until you know me

Loving brings distress I know
heart’s ease
can never please
for long
for us
nor promise what
it withholds
out of pain and anguish
exigency does not let up
its grip forfeits
optimism

So where does that leave hope
Desire
Anticipation
and reassurance?
In fortune’s limbo
offspring of circumstance
kismet confronted
life’s lottery held
in someone else’s hands

You cannot love me
Until you know me!
And then … ?
Oh … what is love?

We will not know
Unless love happens
Until love happens

pixabay-lovers-anguish

The poem was based on the invention of scenarios around some of the paintings by the Scottish painter, Jack Vettriano (1951 -).
The images used above are from Pixabay.

banner-rose

7 thoughts on “LOVE’S ANGUISH

Leave a Reply

