MIRROR! MIRROR!

SelfPortraitScraperBoard1955a

WHB – scraperboard sketch

Mirror! Mirror!
On my screen
Can I believe
What I have seen?

Mirror! Mirror!
Tell me now
I am awesome,
Take a bow.

Is this a selfie
I see before me?
Is this reflected
In my story?

Am I vain,
Or am I boring?
Look at me,
My ego’s soaring.

Go to blazes!
Tell me why
I’m not just
Pie in the sky.

Tell me that
I should believe it;
 At least I look
As though I mean it.

Because I feel
I have no guile
Doesn’t mean
I’m mean and facile.

My face my fortune
It is said;
If they are right
My palm’s ill-read.

But all is not
Quite what it seems,
For what I see
Is in my dreams.

And I can tell
Just looking at me,
I’m not like
The me I see.

Self-NegativeScraperBoard1955a

WHB – scraperboard (negative)

4 thoughts on “MIRROR! MIRROR!

Leave a Reply

