Memory’s Half-Truths

Half-Truths

Memory’s Half-Truths

Half-truths abound in memory
Reflections from my maculate mind
Those part-remembered escapades
Seem partly sighted, partly blind.

Did I when young once ever dare
When roaming in the hills
Explore that damp disused mine shaft
And risk entombment for the thrills?

Was it alone that I did climb
That thrusting rock, that mighty drop,
Without a thought for life and limb
To view the valley from the top?

And when we found that dark Blue Lake
Did I join others for a swim,
Or did I watch whilst others dived,
Afraid to join them? Memory’s dim.

That time, when rambling, I explored
Deep into that hillside cave.
Was I alone and did I dare,
How was it I could be so brave?

And did I once, my memory fades,
Spend a night upon Cass Rock
Light a fire, sleep on the stone,
Or was that all just poppycock?

My youthful escapades were many,
Risky games and daring pranks.
I’ve boasted that I once was brave,
Ever the one for breaking ranks.

I’ve told myself so many times
How bold I was, adventurous child.
And yet I know, if truth be told,
I always was but meek and mild.

running away

bar152

9 thoughts on “Memory’s Half-Truths

  1. the small memories of the past seem to grow larger with age? or were they always grand adventures our minds refused to acknowledge. so so enjoyed this Roland. like trips down your memory lane!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sure Roland you were the master of pranks and adventures in your youth. There is some research from Japan showing our brains actually record two versions of events and they can be quiet different.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: 3rd June – In the Go Dog Go TreeTop Cafe – Singledust

Leave a Reply

