The Faroe Islands

Faroe Islands-Map

The Faroe Islands lie approximately half-way between the most northerly point of the British Isles and Iceland.    Although they are a self-governing island, in fact they belong, as does Greenland, to the kingdom of Denmark.  The Faroese capital is Torshavn and the total population of the Faroe Islands is just over 50,000.  The archipelago has 18 main islands, all of them rugged and rocky with the coastline consisting mainly of cliffs.

I include below a number of my photographs taken in and around Torshavn in 2008.